site site site my site my site my site
+61 8 8150 5200

Australia • New Zealand

Virtual Wokshop : AFM for Critical Dimension - Metrology of Trenches, Lines and Gratings

Home News Virtual Wokshop : AFM for Critical Dimension - Metrology of Trenches, Lines and Gratings
Virtual Wokshop : AFM for Critical Dimension - Metrology of Trenches, Lines and Gratings
20 Jul

Virtual Wokshop : AFM for Critical Dimension - Metrology of Trenches, Lines and Gratings

Wednesday 27 July 5am NZST, 3am AEST, 1am AWST
 



Electronic devices are getting smaller and more efficient, and thus require higher quality in the inspection of semiconductor microfabrication processes. Characterising critical dimensions of various component structures is an essential step to provide quality control feedback on fabrication processes. Current technology features component structures (e.g., trenches, lines and gratings) that measure down to a couple of hundred nanometers, which excludes the usage of optical microscopes due to the light diffraction limit. However, atomic force microscopy (AFM) can provide nanometer accuracy in x, y and z directions without damaging components and, therefore, is a very useful tool for characterising these structures.

 

In this workshop, Bruker will briefly cover the applications of AFM in the characterisation of trenches, lines and gratings. Firstly, an introduction to the Dimension Icon AFM, a large‑platform system that utilises proprietary PeakForce Tapping mode for superior critical dimension measurement performance. Then we will discuss AutoMET, a software option that allows users to automatically measure samples with the help of pattern recognition, including offline batch data process specifically for these structures. Finally, we will conclude the workshop with a live demonstration showing how to measure a patterned sample.

 

Speakers:

Senli Guo, Ph.D., Sales Applications Engineer, Bruker
John Thornton, Applications Engineer, Bruker